US Open 2015 winners: All you need to know

first_imgThe 135th edition of US Open concluded on September 13. The event was held at USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in New York. US Open is being played at the stadium since 1978.  US Open is mainly held in  August and September and this year the tournament was held from August 31 to September 13. US Open is the fourth and the last Grand Slam tournament of the year.After winning the Wimbledon 2015, Novak Djokovic won the Men’s Singles. This year the defending champion was Marin Cilic though he eliminated in the semifinals. Whereas, the three time defending champion, Serena Williams also lost in the semifinals and Flavia Pennetta won the Women’s Singles title and became the first Italian to win the US Open.Roger Federer lost against Novak Djokovic in the finals. Federer lost to Djokovic again after the Wimbledon 2015 finals.Martina Hingis, Sania Mirza and Leander Paes won the same title in Wimbledon 2015 and they continued their streak in this year’s US Open.The list of winners according to their titles is: Men’s Singles: Novak DjokovicWomen’s Singles: Flavia PennettaMen’s Doubles: Pierre-Hugues Herbert and Nicolas MahutWomen’s Doubles: Martina Hingis and Sania MirzaMixed Doubles: Leander Paes and Martina HingisBoys’ Singles: Taylor Harry FritzGirls’ Singles: Dalma GalfiBoys’ Doubles: Felix Auger Aliassime and Denis ShapovalovGirls’ Doubles: Viktoria Kuzmova and Aleksandra PospelovaMen’s Invitation Doubles: Pat Cash and Mark PhillippoussisWheelchair Men’s Singles: Shingo KuniedaWheelchair Women’s Singles: Jordanne WhileyWheelchair Quad Singles: Dylan AlcottWheelchair Men’s Doubles: Stephane Houdet and Gordon ReidWheelchair Women’s Doubles: Jiske Griffioen and Aniek van KootWheelchair Quad Doubles: Nick Taylor and David Wagnerlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *